## Pagosa Lakes Property Owners Association, Inc. ANNUAL MEETING MINUTES

### Saturday, July 29, 2023

# Online Voting at 9:00 AM – Meeting at 10:00 AM Pagosa Lakes Clubhouse, 230 Port Avenue

9:00 AM Registration, Casting of Ballots

9:55 AM Final Call for Ballots

10:00 AM Meeting Opening

- a. Call to Order at 10:06 am- Dan Mayer, President
  - 1. Close Balloting
- b. Pledge of Allegiance
- c. Welcoming Remarks President Dan Mayer
- **Verification of a Quorum** Secretary Danny Musgrove stated:

"The Bylaws of the Association require at least one hundred (100) voting members to establish a quorum. That number may be arrived at through proxy or absentee ballot, as long as at least twenty-five (25) voting members are physically present.

The tally at the close of balloting shows over 1758 members voting either on line, or write in ballot with 60 voting members physically present @ 10:00 am, thereby establishing a quorum."

The purpose of the meeting is to:

- Vote on three open board positions
- Educate property owners on the general operations of the association and the rights and responsibilities of owners, the association, and the Board of Directors under Colorado law.
- Adoption of the Agenda

Motion to adopt agenda by Owner Gene Taugess,  $2^{nd}$  Rob Hagberg Owner. Agenda adopted.

• Approval of Minutes of Annual Meeting July 30, 2022

Motion to approve July 30, 2022 Minutes by Owner Dave Frank, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Owner Rob Hagberg. Approved.

#### **OWNER EDUCATION**

• HOA Structure, Operations & New Legislation - Lauren

Holmes, Orten, Cavanagh, Holmes & Hunt LLC & GM Allen Roth

#### **GOVERNMENT**

- a. GM Allen Roth Introduction of Board Members, Committee Members and Staff
- b. Introduction of Board Election by GM Allen Roth
- c. 2022-2023 major accomplishments in the PLPOA.

#### **BUSINESS**

- **Association Financial Report –** PLPOA Comptroller- Katie Benoit presented the June 2023 financial statements.
  - Motion to carry forward any remaining surplus from 2023 to fiscal year 2024 by Owner Rob Hagburg, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Owner Brady Turner. Passed

Motion to accept June 2023 Financial Statement by Owner Linn Moore, 2<sup>nd</sup> by Owner Lucinda Ray. Passed.

- **Reserve Study & Capital Projects Overview** GM Allen Roth presented the Capital and Reserve fund balances and the 2023 budgeted projects associated with those funds.
- **Review of Legal Actions** Lauren Holmes, Orten, Cavanagh, Holmes & Hunt LLC reported on the number of current collection and covenant violation cases.

#### COMMUNITY

- **Community Events & Services** GM Allen Roth presented information regarding community enhancement outreach, compliance and permit summaries, Lifestyle events and activities, and communications.
- Committee Reports

Recreational Amenities-Ryan Graham RA Mgr.
Lakes and Fisheries – Larry Lynch DPE Mgr.
Parks, Trails & Outdoor Recreation – Larry Lynch DPE Mgr.
Garden Committee- Toni Gallegos Chair
Finance Advisory – Allen Roth GM
Environmental Control Committee – Ericka Bailey

• **Election Results -** Danny Musgrove, Secretary

890 votes (36%) Mayer, 827 votes (33%) Moore, and 784 votes (31%) Lundy. With Wade Lundy's appoint to the Board of Directors, there is a vacancy on the ECC and owners are invited to apply.

Acknowledgement of Election - Vice-President Lars Schneider

**Public Comments –** Owner Lucinda Ray suggested a review and possible update of the original CCR's; with focus on covenants and restrictions. President Mayer explained briefly the lengthy process/costs and suggested owners coming to monthly board meetings. Attorney Holmes clarified that for the alternative approach of judicial petition for changes, there is still a high threshold for owner affirmation before the court could consider a petition to change the covenants.

Owner Madeline Caduff asked that at the upcoming Joint Session with the Board of Commissioners slated for August 8, 2023, previous items discussed (flooding/culverts) to be kept on the agenda.

#### **Announcement of Organizational Board Meeting**

Election of Officers, Board Member Education following the Annual Meeting – taking place in the Vista Conference Room.

• **Adjournment** Motion to adjourn by owner Linn Moore, 2<sup>nd</sup> by owner Dave Frank. Adjourned at 12:25 pm.

Respectfully submitted:	
Monte Whitman, Board Secretary	Candace Selk Barnes, Recording Secretary

### 2023 Annual Meeting Presentation available at PLPOA.COM

**7/31/2023 Addendum:** Organizational Meeting results of Board Officers election for 2023-2024

President: Dan Mayer

Vice President: Lars Schneider Secretary: Monte Whitman Treasurer: Chris Tanner

Directors: Ericka Bailey, Patrick Moore and Wade Lundy